Questions about theweddingdressses.com
by Shelley
(Buffalo NY )
I am wondering if anyone has purchased a dress from the China based site theweddingdresses.com?
I have read the reviews about other overseas sites and am very skeptical about purchasing online, however I have absolutly fallen in love with a dress on the site and have not been able to find it anywhere else.
I was surprised that there were no reviews of this site which claims to have been in business for some time.
Does any one know anything about the site?
Answer by Diane:Hi Shelley,
Thanks for asking about this wedding dress supplier and welcome to the site!
I have not heard of this supplier so if anyone else out there has had dealings with them, please let us know!
In the meantime, let's see what we can find out about them.
First of all, congratulations on being wary! It is always a good idea to look for reviews, ask questions and investigate prior to purchasing online.
One of the first things that I always check for is how easy it is to get in contact with them. To get in touch with this company you have either a snail mail address or a contact form. There is no phone number or email address option.
Personally, I would test out communication with this company prior to even thinking of ordering from them. I would ask if they are original designer dresses or knock-offs.
A lot of times, these sites use the pictures from designer's sites but the dress you receive is a cheap knock-off, so you have to be careful about that.
The site on their "About Us" page says that they have been around since 2004, but according to their domain info, they have been online only for 2 years, 3 months and one week (as of March 2011).
So something isn't jiving there! (red flag!)
You have three days to ask for a return, (hope you can get a hold of them), and then they will charge you a 25% restocking fee and you have to pay to ship the dress back.
Please be careful with this one and do ask lots of questions.